Welcome to Carters Rest Guesthouse

Reviews

5
Based on 196 reviews
5 Star
97%
4 Star
3%
3 Star
0%
2 Star
0%
1 Star
0%
Tim & Elizabeth B – 2 months ago

What a lovely location and perfect hosts!!
We can't say enough about our time at Carter's Rest this past August.The location was perfect for us, calm and restful after a week of travelling through England, Wales and eastern Scotland.The breakfasts were lovely (as much or as little as you desired), the accommodations warm and welcoming, and Simone and Jonathan perfect hosts!They prepared us a fabulous dinner on our last evening which was one of the best meals we had during our 3 1/2 weeks in the UK.We highly recommend and would come back again when we are next in Isle of Skye!

Josh and K – 2 months ago

Respite and calm, a great escape from the tourists
We had an amazing experience at Carter's Rest. The room was relaxing, quiet and incredibly comfortable. Our hosts were friendly, but not intrusive. The food was amazing and We'll be eating Cullen Skink more in the future, although it may not live up to their recipe. Carter's Rest is quite a drive from anything else, but that's a major point of it's charm and appeal. We would happy to travel back to Carter's Rest in the future.

J – 2 months ago

Beautifully situated BnB with Fantastic Hosts and Thoughtful Touches
Carter’s Rest feels like it’s located at the edge of the world. The landscape is stunning and at night - when clear - the stars are incredible. The rooms are comfortable and better appointed than any of the other places we stayed on our trip to Scotland. Nice toiletries,and a lovely diffuser from North Highland Soap made the whole room smell great.The bed and bedding was comfortable.Tea, coffee and snacks were available in the room or you could enjoy the lounge with a fire downstairs. Slippers were available when shedding your shoes at the door, but it felt homey enough to wander in socks.Jonathan and Simone are consummate hosts, offering sightseeing advice and conversation, but in an unobtrusive way.The food was excellent - dinner the first night featured delicious seafood (the smoked salmon was fantastic), and the options for breakfast each morning were wide ranging and served with great coffee and a warm smile. This felt less like a BnB and more like two people sharing their home and making you so happy you came to stay.Highly recommend.

S – 3 months ago

Coming Home to Friends
We had an incredible time at carters rest! We felt like staying at a friends home and the friends spoiled us with hospitality, kindness and amazing food! The location and the view is just stunning! We will definitely come back!

Santiago A – 3 months ago

The best place in Scotland
Beautiful location. If you want to be with nature, away from the City noise this is the best place in the world. Simone and Johnatan are excellent hosts. Their attention to detail is second to none, but most importantly they make you feel like you are at home with friends. Food is excellent, including dinners specially prepared for us. Simone and Johnatan are excellent chefs. We would definitely love to go back again.

A – 3 months ago

Lovely and restful
The Cullen Skink was one of the best things I have ever eaten! The most comfortable bed ever! Simone and Jonathan could not have been more thoughtful and accommodating. I would give 6 stars if I could!

Ron R – 3 months ago

Another great stay.
I had a 5 night stay, this is my second time here and I can't recommend Carters Rest enough, lovely rooms with tea coffee and snacks, immaculately clean, great food, and the most warmly welcoming hosts you could wish for. Beautiful surroundings and amazing views. Absolutely lovely.

Terri H – 3 months ago

Amazing!!Wish we had stayed longer!
Jonathan and Simone are the best hosts you could hope for.They opened up their beautiful home to us and provided everything we could want for a perfect stay.A warm fire, cozy linens, delectable food, the list goes on.The only problem was ... we didn't stay long enough.2 nights should have been 3.Next time.Don't miss this gem on your trip.

K – 3 months ago

A restful haven
Besides the stunningly beautiful scenery Carter’s Rest also offers wonderful hospitality, superb food and a warm and peaceful vibe. I highly recommend a stay here!!

Stephanie P – 3 months ago

Excellent
Simone and Jonathan couldn't have been more welcoming and really put their guests' needs first. They have thought of everything! Beautiful location, fantastic accommodation and perfect food. We felt very much looked after and felt we needed longer there! Highly recommend to anyone thinking of visiting Skye.